Special Track in Challenges and Promises


The Special Track in Challenges and Promises aims to help guide future developments in the CBR field by encourages members from within and outside the CBR community to discuss topics such as but not limited to:

  • challenges or promising areas that create bridges between domains;
  • challenges faced by other communities where CBR may have a role;
  • CBR problems in AI tasks;
  • CBR problems in some new domain;
  • Novel CBR methods.


  • Submissions due: April 26, 2020 May 8, 2020
  • Notifications:   May 3, 2020 May 15, 2020
  • Camera ready:   May 10, 2020 May 25, 2020
  • Conference starts  Jun 8, 2020


Submissions must be identified as specific to the Special Track in Challenges and Promises @ ICCBR 2020. They will be reviewed according to promise for inciting new research, originality, contextualization with existing research, open research questions, and clarity.
Accepted papers will be considered for short presentations and discussion session. 


Authors must submit a full paper by the conference paper submission deadline, formatted according to the Springer LNCS formatting guidelines (https://www.springer.com/gp/authors-editors/conference-proceedings/confe...). Papers (submitted and final) should be no longer than 6 pages including references. Please submit papers using the EasyChair conference management system, found at https://easychair.org/my/conference?conf=iccbr2020

Multiple Submission Policy
Papers submitted to other conferences must state this fact as a footnote on page 1, and please also notify the program co-chairs by email. If a paper will appear in another conference or journal, it must be withdrawn from ICCBR 2020.


In order for a paper to appear in the proceedings, at least one of the authors must register for the conference by the camera-ready copy deadline. Papers must be presented by one of the authors at the conference live. There will be no video presentations.


Proceedings will be published by Springer in the book series Lecture Notes in Computer Science.


  • Ian Watson, University of Auckland
  • Rosina Weber, Drexel University


  • Agnar Aamodt, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • David W. Aha, Naval Research Laboratory
  • Mehmet H Göker, SurveyMonkey
  • Cindy Marling, Ohio University
  • Barry Smyth, University College Dublin
  • Ramon Lopez De Mantaras, IIIA - CSIC
  • David Leake, Indiana University


  • Klaus-Dieter Althoff, DFKI / University of Hildesheim
  • Kerstin Bach, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Ralph Bergmann, University of Trier
  • Isabelle Bichindaritz, State University of New York at Oswego
  • Hayley Borck, Honeywell
  • Derek Bridge, University College Cork
  • Sutanu Chakraborti, Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • Alexandra Coman, Capital One
  • Sarah Jane Delany, Technological University Dublin
  • Belén Díaz Agudo, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Michael Floyd, Knexus Research
  • Peter Funk, Mälardalen University
  • Mehmet H Göker, SurveyMonkey
  • Pedro González Calero, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Odd Erik Gundersen, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Vahid Jalali, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Stelios Kapetanakis, University of Brighton
  • Mark Keane, University College Dublin
  • Joseph Kendall-Morwick, Missouri Western State University
  • Luc Lamontagne, Laval University
  • Jean Lieber, LORIA - INRIA Lorraine
  • Mirjam Minor, Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Stefania Montani, Universita' del Piemonte Orientale
  • Héctor Muñoz-Avila, Lehigh University
  • Emmanuel Nauer, LORIA
  • Santiago Ontañón, Drexel University
  • Miltos Petridis, Middlesex University London
  • Enric Plaza, IIIA-CSIC
  • Luigi Portinale, Universita' del Piemonte Orientale "A. Avogadro"
  • Juan Recio-Garcia, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Jonathan Rubin, Philips Research North America
  • Antonio Sánchez-Ruiz, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Frode Sørmo, Verdande Technology
  • David Wilson, UNC Charlotte
  • Nirmalie Wiratunga, The Robert Gordon University

©2020 | 28th International Conference on Case-Based Reasoning . All Rights Reserved.